What can I expect after DUI charges in South Carolina?

As a criminal defense attorney in North Charleston, South Carolina, I work with clients facing alcohol-related charges to untangle the language and consequences surrounding DUI and DUAC. This article provides information about regulations, penalties, and criminal defense for those charges.



South Carolina law divides DUI offenses into two categories. Law enforcement may charge a driver with DUI, Driving Under the Influence, if a chemical test ("breathalyzer") shows a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater. A DUI charge may be issued even if a person's BAC is below this level, if the use of alcohol or drugs has affected their operation of a vehicle. DUI charges can also include prescription and over-the-counter medications, which may affect a person's BAC and/or ability to drive.



If a driver is pulled over for an unrelated reason -- such as a broken tail light -- rather than for obviously impaired driving, and the officer subsequently decides to issue a chemical test, a BAC of 0.08% or above constitutes DUAC, Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Content. For drivers under age 21, the BAC limit is 0.02%; the limit drivers with a CDL are 0.04%.



A DUI/DUAC conviction can lead to both civil and criminal penalties. Civil penalties include driver's license suspension, and criminal penalties can range from community service to up to 7 years in jail. In both cases, criminal charges and sentencing are affected by a driver's history, so a second or subsequent DUI charge will carry higher fines and more jail time than a first offense.



It is critical to find legal representation immediately after receiving a DUI or DUAC charge in South Carolina, especially if your breath test reports a BAC of 0.15% or higher, or if you refused to submit to a breath test. In these cases, your license will be automatically suspended if you do not challenge said suspension within 30 days.



The facts and possible outcomes of every case are different. If you are facing DUI or DUAC charges in South Carolina, contact the Deaton Law Firm to start discussing possible next steps right away. Our experienced attorneys can help you craft an aggressive, effective strategy that helps you stay on the road.

Rate this blog entry:
How to Administer a Workplace Drug Testing Policy ...
Why use a Specialist Solicitor to make a Bike Acci...